Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Histoire de la présence américaine au Château Ménier de Lamorlaye  Oise -

My approach

28 Mai 2014, 12:38pm

Publié par Juliette

My approach

All First there were many unsuccessful attempts to glean information at local level. Many witnesses have died and those who remain at the time were young carefree people who have no very precise memories of this unit was based at Castle Ménier August 1944 september1945 near Lamorlaye .


These American soldiers seemed so idle at the end of the war and dreamed of returning home. Who were they ? What unit they belong?


An unlikely encounter between a very young Picard wins three sub washing machine soldiers and a lonely GI, love affair , maybe even without true love , but things get complicated when a child looks and the unit s ' flew ! Tips anecdotes , photo without names, first name without photo are the only elements with which my mother, her daughters had to build and now my son ask me . Blame it on ignorance, negligence with no luck !


My " grandfather " would be Charles the driver of Major, he was based in Castle Ménier for sure during the summer of 1945 because my mother was born in May 1946. My grandmother returned to the castle in the fall after a long absence due to illness of his mother and the Americans had broken camp ! Where to?


A photo of a man named Lang who spoke French and stuttered . Maybe he was a translator ? Another of my grandmother posing in front of the building at that time.

Commenter cet article